The Excellence in Diversity Awards Announce 2015 Shortlist

Shortlist PicDiversity Champions and Inclusive Employers Shortlisted for Pioneering Diversity Awards

J.P. Morgan are just one of the brands supporting a sky fall of inclusive talent – Diversity champions, inclusive employers and pioneering campaigns from all aspects of diversity have been shortlisted for this year’s ceremony.

An overwhelming amount of nominations were received paying tribute to inspirational individuals and diverse companies nationwide that have showcased their incredible achievements to the equality agenda

Diversity leaders and talent will gather at The Midland Hotel, Manchester on May 14th 2015 to celebrate the tremendous feats of employees and organisations.

The exclusive awards ceremony will applaud the extraordinary contributions of those that have gone above and beyond their corporate social responsibility, tackling issues internally and externally to influence change in the field of diversity & inclusion.

Baroness Campbell of Surbiton, who has continuously campaigned for disability rights most notably against the legalisation of assisted suicide, said, “If we do not champion people’s diversity in Britain, whether that be in employment, education or full access to public life, then we cannot call ourselves progressive, inclusive and successful human beings. I cannot think of anyone who would want that, but sometimes we need role models to help show us the way.

These awards will help society to understand and learn what it means to genuinely include all diverse people in our communities. To be part of that process is very important to me“.

The event is definitely one to mark down on your calendar and provides recognition for excellence regardless of age, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, race, faith, religion and culture.

Business journalist & broadcaster Steph McGovern will take to the stage to host the evening, stating “I am delighted to be hosting the Excellence in Diversity Awards to celebrate the great work of organisations and people who are leading the way in making our country a great and inclusive place to work”

Thomson Reuters, CIPD and Action for Children are amongst those supporting the campaign to reward organisations that operate across all aspects of diversity.

A panel of judges including Andy woodfield PwC, Miranda Wayland ITV, and Dianah Worman OBE gathered to finalise the widely anticipated shortlist.

Shortlist Pic copyThe full list of nominees are as follows:

Diverse Company Charity

Oxfam, Victim Support, Creative Support, Mind, St Giles Trust

Diverse Company Education

The City of Liverpool College, University of Sunderland, University of Manchester, University of Sheffield, The Open University

Diverse Company Housing

Liverpool Mutual Homes, mhs homes, Gentoo, Great Places Housing Group, Gateway Housing Association

Diverse Company Private

Microlink PC, Mouchel, TSSA, Asda, BAE Systems

Diverse Company Public

Greater Manchester Police, Transport for London, Centro, Lancashire Police, UK Office of National Statistics

Diversity Champion Charity

Michael McGrath – The Muscle Help Foundation, Helen Keeling-Marston – Support through Sport UK, Rev. Fred Annin – ActionPlus Foundation, Angela Murphy – Tomorrow’s Women Wirral, Bisi Alimi – Human Rights Activist

Diversity Champion Education

Shaun Dellenty – Inclusion for All, Jiten Patel – The Open University, Joanne Tedds – City & Islington College, Colin Dean – Special iApps, David Bolt – Hope University

Diversity Champion Housing

Robert Kerse – Circle Housing, Cam Kinsella – Merlin Housing Society, Sharon Thomas – Riverside, Bob Green – Stonewall Housing, Rohini Sharma Joshi – Trust Housing Association

Diversity Champion Private

Jane Hatton – Evenbreak, Heather Melville – RBS, Funke Abimbola -Roche UK, Sue Gardener – IBM, Geoffrey Williams – Thomson Reuters

Diversity Champion Public

Mark MacKenzie MBE – Transport for London, Jacqui Gavin – civil service, Lindsey Ambrose- St Andrew’s Healthcare , Joan Pons Laplana – NHS Employers, Jeanette Gagg – UK HM Prison Service

Head of Diversity & Inclusion

Jen Smith – Circle Housing, Sarah Churchman – PwC, Ricky Somal – Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust, Bruce Campion-Smith – East Kent Hospitals University Foundation NHS Trust, Fiona Bartels-Ellis – British Council

Employee of the Year

Jeanette Gagg – UK HM Prison Service, Damian Kitson – Asda, Apsana Begum – Tower Hamlets Homes, Andrew Barratt – Ogilvy, Graeme Whippy – Lloyds Banking Group

Diverse Marketing Campaign of the Year

BBC Local Apprenticeship Scheme, gfsn Rainbow Laces Campaign, Pride in London – Freedom too, West Midlands Police, Youth Media Agency #Press4changeYouth

Best Diversity Resource

Black British Academics, Housing Diversity Network, Special iApps, Common Purpose, English Federation of Disability Sport

Outstanding Diversity Network

HSBC – Balance Network, The Cooperative Group – Respect Network, Lloyds International – Diversity & Inclusion Network, RBS – Focussed Women Network, Ernst & young – Sikh Network

Lifetime Achiever

John Campbell, Nasser Siabi OBE, Dawn Milman-Hurst, Julie Charles, Rev. John Butcher

Winners will be announced at The Midland Hotel Manchester on May 14th 2015.

Table bookings for the Excellence in Diversity Awards are available here